Where Some of My Writing Inspo Comes From; Also, Life Tips!

I have said it before…

Screen Shot 2015-04-01 at 11.33.42 PM

…and I’ll say it again. Anna Breslaw is #endgame. For those of you who don’t know who she is, she currently holds the position of Sex & Relationships editor for Cosmopolitan Magazine (which obviously appeals to thirteen-year-old me, in the top bunk at summer camp, reading Cosmo aloud to the other girls). She is a freelance writer and heavy Tweeter, with an impressive talent for putting words onto the virtual page. In an age of digitized relationships and social-media interaction, Breslaw ***Flawlessly captures the aesthetic of Gen Y in her pieces. Exhibit A: 

Screen Shot 2015-04-01 at 11.11.47 PM

If I could some day articulate my thoughts in even remotely the same relatable, accessible, coherent, hysterically comical way that she does, I might be okay emotionally mentally professionally … maybe. Breslaw’s writing is witty and sharp, and she has an uncanny ability to grasp the essence of what being a MiLLeNniAL in a world dominated by Baby Boomers and Generation X’s is like. Her articles are current and meaningful. She does a wonderful job of cloaking her thorough research and well-informed knowledge of the human body/psyche in the hilarity of her personal testimony and frighteningly appropriate colloquialisms.

This is an article that I retweeted about a WEEK AGOOOOO year ago. REAL TALK, it’s the truest shit ever and you should live by it. I mean, like, only if you want to…. But for real. It’s an excellent example of Breslaw’s writing style, and I strongly believe that hers is an aesthetic to keep an eye out for in the future.

I’m done fan-girling now #nochill.

Leave a Reply

