In Search of Perfection

Some moments are nice, some are nicer, some are even worth writing about.

– Charles Bukowski

I read a blog the other day by freelance writer and York University Alum Sandy Braz that was all about the perfect moment; what makes a moment so perfect that you would want to relive it over and over again, ad infinitum? What makes a moment perfect to begin with? Do perfect moments even exist? In her post, Braz floats this little piece for consideration: “I’ve never felt that […] have you?”

Which got me thinking. About the perfect moment, whether I’ve experienced one yet, whether or not I ever will.

I could go through my memory bank and pick out several moments that I would choose to live in forever. My childhood would be easy: I’d pick any time spent at my family cottage. From my adolescence, I’d pick the moments I met all of the people who have made a difference in my life, whether or not they’re still a part of it. A moment in my young adulthood could be anything from getting accepted to University or Grad school, to realizing what I want to do with my life, to meeting my current boyfriend, and so on.

I thought about those brief moments you have when you first wake up in the morning, when you stretch the sleep out of your muscles and bones and just lie in bed for a few seconds, buried in the comfort and warmth of your sheets. I thought about all those times I’ve laughed with friends and thought “it doesn’t get much better than this.” Or when you reach the end of a good book, and you just kind of hover for a moment between the reality of what you just read and the reality of your own life, in a kind of blissful, suspended limbo.

As I thought about those moments, though, I wondered to myself, were they really perfect?

Did I even want them to be? The thing about experiencing the perfect moment is that, every moment thereafter, you will never quite feel as good as you did when you first realized it. You will always try to top that perfect moment, but there will always be something missing. So what’s wrong with never experiencing the perfect moment? What’s wrong with there kind of always being something missing from every moment you ever experience? You can spend the rest of your life always seeking out that missing piece, coming across amazing, wonderful, blissful, precious moments all along the way, and never really lose anything.

So, Sandy, to answer your question, I don’t think I have experienced the perfect moment, and I don’t think I ever will. If I were to chose any specific moment to relive on repeat, it wouldn’t be because that moment was perfect. It would be because I’d want to relive that fleeting moment of imperfection, and experience it differently every time, always with the excitement of knowing that it will never be the same.

Leave a Reply

